
Comparison of Obama Administration Gun Violence Prevention Proposals 
and Current California Law and Practices 

 

President’s proposal1 Current California law 
“Require background checks for all gun 
sales” 

California already does that.  California’s transfer laws apply 
to private party sales and there is no “gun show loophole” in 
California because those transactions are subject to current 
background check requirements.  Penal Code § 28050 et seq. 

“Call on licensed dealers and private 
sellers to do their part through executive 
action” 

Not applicable. 

“Address unnecessary legal barriers that 
prevent states from reporting information 
about those prohibited from having guns.”  
This is federal HIPAA regulation-related. 

Not applicable.  Requires federal action.   
 
There is no conflict between HIPAA and existing California 
law that prevents transmission of information to the 
Department of Justice.  There is an exemption under HIPAA 
allowing mental health professionals to discuss protected 
health information with law enforcement when necessary to 
prevent or lessen a serious and imminent threat to the health 
or safety of the patient or others.  Communications between 
law enforcement and the Department of Justice pursuant to 
Welfare and Institutions Code § 8105(c), and 
communications between a mental health evaluation facility 
and the Department of Justice pursuant to Welfare and 
Institutions Code § 8103(f)(2) do not involve health 
information protected under HIPAA, but only the identity of 
an individual subject to firearms restrictions. 

“Improve incentives for states to share 
information with the background check 
system.”  DOJ will invest $20 million in 
FY 2013 to give states stronger incentives 
to make this data available.  The 
Administration is also proposing $50 
million for this purpose in FY 2014 and 
will look for additional ways to ensure 
that states are doing their part to provide 
relevant information. 

California is already turning over all mental health 
information that the federal government requests.  Some 
categories of mental health prohibited persons are not turned 
over.  California has a few unique categories of mental 
patients (those who make a credible threat against an 
identifiable victims are “prohibited persons” (cannot 
own/possess firearms) for six months) that are not turned 
over to the federal database.  Whether they should be is 
debatable and under review. 

“Hold federal agencies accountable for 
sharing reliable information with the 
background check system.” 

Not applicable. 

“Make sure dangerous people are 
prohibited from having guns.”  No other 
details specified.  The Attorney General is 
tasked to review existing laws. 

California already has numerous categories of prohibited 
persons under current law.  California prohibits, among 
others, all convicted felons, those convicted of specified 
violent misdemeanors (for 10 years), those who have been 
committed to a mental facility by a court, and those who 
were forced to undergo an evaluation because of a threat to 
self or others from owning or possessing firearm if the 
treating health professional agrees that the person is a danger 
to self or others.   



Since the federal proposal is vague, it is unclear whether 
California complies with whatever standard is envisioned by 
the Obama Administration.  New York’s recent law added 
those who renounce their citizenship, fugitives, and illegal 
aliens to those who are ineligible for a New York gun 
license.  It is not clear what President Obama has in mind for 
this proposal.  California already has one of the widest 
definitions of prohibited persons of any state. 

“Reinstate and strengthen the ban on 
assault weapons.”  By “strengthen,” the 
report states that “manufacturers were 
able to circumvent the prohibition with 
cosmetic modifications to their weapons.” 

California already has an assault weapons ban.  Penal Code § 
30510 et seq.  It bans, with exceptions, the sale, 
manufacture, and possession of assault weapons.  It 
enumerates a list of weapons by brand name, make, and 
model (Penal Code § 30510) and those with specified, 
generic characteristics (Penal Code § 30515).   The current 
California definition may not comport with whatever 
definition is proposed to deal with the “cosmetic 
modifications” critique.   
 
Senator Yee has introduced legislation that would ban the 
use of the magazine magnet and bullet button to evade 
having a firearm classified as having a “detachable 
magazine” – a major component of the generic definition of 
an assault weapon. A similar bill was held in the Assembly 
Appropriations Committee in 2012, SB 249. 

“Limit ammunition magazines to 10 
rounds.”  It is not clear from the 
President’s proposal whether the “limit” 
will apply to manufacture and 
sale/transfer only or to possession as well. 

California already prohibits manufacture and sale of “large-
capacity” magazines. 
 
Penal Code § 16740 defines a “large-capacity magazine” as” 
any ammunition feeding device with the capacity to accept 
more than 10 rounds, but shall not be construed to include 
any of the following:  
(a) A feeding device that has been permanently altered so 
that it cannot accommodate more than 10 rounds.  
(b) A .22 caliber tube ammunition feeding device.  
(c) A tubular magazine that is contained in a lever-action 
firearm.” 
 
Penal Code § 32310 provides that “Except as provided in 
Article 2 (commencing with Section 32400) of this chapter 
[sales to law enforcement] and in Chapter 1 (commencing 
with Section 17700) of Division 2 of Title 2, commencing 
January 1, 2000 [bequests, other exemptions], any person in 
this state who manufactures or causes to be manufactured, 
imports into the state, keeps for sale, or offers or exposes for 
sale, or who gives, or lends, any large-capacity magazine is 
punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding 
one year or imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of 
Section 1170 [a realigned felony]. 
 
California does not penalize mere possession of a large-
capacity magazine. 



“Finish the job of getting armor-piercing 
bullets off the street.”  The criticism here 
is that federal law does not make it illegal 
to possess or transfer this information. 

This is adequately covered by current California law: 
 
Penal Code § 12022.2 provides that “any person who, while 
armed with a firearm in the commission or attempted 
commission of any felony, has in his or her immediate 
possession ammunition for the firearm designed primarily to 
penetrate metal or armor, shall upon conviction of that 
felony or attempted felony, in addition and consecutive to 
the punishment prescribed for the felony or attempted 
felony, be punished by an additional term of 3, 4, or 10 
years.” 
 
Penal Code § 30315 provides “Any person, firm, or 
corporation who, within this state knowingly possesses any 
handgun ammunition designed primarily to penetrate metal 
or armor is guilty of a public offense and upon conviction 
thereof shall be punished by imprisonment pursuant to 
subdivision (h) of Section 1170, or in the county jail for a 
term not to exceed one year, or by a fine not to exceed five 
thousand dollars ($5,000), or by both that fine and 
imprisonment.”  (This is a realigned wobbler.) 
 
Penal Code § 30320 provides “Any person, firm, or 
corporation who, within this state, manufactures, imports, 
sells, offers to sell, or knowingly transports any handgun 
ammunition designed primarily to penetrate metal or armor 
is guilty of a felony and upon conviction thereof shall be 
punished by imprisonment in state prison, or by a fine not to 
exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by both that fine 
and imprisonment.” 

“Create serious punishments for gun 
trafficking.”  “Today, criminals can easily 
buy guns from unlicensed dealers, or 
acquire them with the help of so-called 
“straw purchasers” who pass the required 
background check to buy guns from 
licensed dealers. But there is no explicit 
law against straw purchasing, so straw 
purchasers and others who traffic guns 
can often only be prosecuted for 
paperwork violations. We cannot allow 
those who help put guns into the hands of 
criminals to get away with just a slap on 
the wrist. Congress should close these 
loopholes with new gun trafficking laws 
that impose serious penalties for these 
crimes.” 

California already has penalties applicable to “straw 
purchasers.”  Penal Code § 27500 provides that “(a) No 
person, corporation, or firm shall knowingly sell, supply, 
deliver, or give possession or control of a firearm to any 
person within any of the classes prohibited by Chapter 2 
(commencing with Section 29800) or Chapter 3 
(commencing with Section 29900) of Division 9. 
(b) No person, corporation, or dealer shall sell, supply, 
deliver, or give possession or control of a firearm to anyone 
whom the person, corporation, or dealer has cause to believe 
is within any of the classes prohibited by Chapter 2 
(commencing with Section 29800) or Chapter 3 
(commencing with Section 29900) of Division 9 of this title, 
or Section 8100 or 8103 of the Welfare and Institutions 
Code.” 
 
Penal Code § 27515 provides “No person, corporation, or 
dealer shall sell, loan, or transfer a firearm to anyone whom 
the person, corporation, or dealer knows or has cause to 
believe is not the actual purchaser or transferee of the 
firearm, or to anyone who is not the one actually being 



loaned the firearm, if the person, corporation, or dealer has 
either of the following: 
(a) Knowledge that the firearm is to be subsequently sold, 
loaned, or transferred to avoid the provisions of Section 
27540 or 27545. 
(b) Knowledge that the firearm is to be subsequently sold, 
loaned, or transferred to avoid the requirements of any 
exemption to the provisions of Section 27540 or 27545.” 
 
Penal Code § 27520 provides “No person, corporation, or 
dealer shall acquire a firearm for the purpose of selling, 
loaning, or transferring the firearm, if the person, 
corporation, or dealer has either of the following: 
(a) In the case of a dealer, intent to violate Section 27510 
[transfer of handgun to person under 21 prohibited] or 27540 
[10-day waiting requirement and other firearms delivery 
requirements]. 
(b) In any other case, intent to avoid either of the following: 
(1) The provisions of Section 27545 [the requirement that 
firearms be transferred through a licensed dealer with a 
background check]. 
(2) The requirements of any exemption to the provisions of 
Section 27545.” 
 
Penalties are specified in Penal Code § 27590.  Transfers to a 
prohibited person are punishable as a wobbler, the felony 
provisions of which are subject to realignment (incarcerate in 
county jail unless the person has a current or prior serious 
felony, violent felony, or a sex offense requiring registration 
as a sex offender). 

“Help communities across the country 
keep 15,000 cops on the street.”  “One of 
the most important steps we can take to 
reduce gun violence is to keep police 
officers at their posts in our 
neighborhoods and communities. The 
President is calling on Congress to act on 
the Administration’s $4 billion proposal 
to help keep 15,000 cops on the street in 
cities and towns across the country.” 

Not applicable. 

“Take executive action to enhance tracing 
data.” 

Not applicable. 

“Take executive action to help law 
enforcement avoid returning guns to the 
wrong hands.” 

Penal Code § 33850(a) provides “Any person who claims 
title to any firearm that is in the custody or control of a court 
or law enforcement agency and who wishes to have the 
firearm returned shall make application for a determination 
by the Department of Justice as to whether the applicant is 
eligible to possess a firearm. The application shall include 
the following: 
(1) The applicant’s name, date and place of birth, gender, 
telephone number, and complete address. 



(2) Whether the applicant is a United States citizen. If the 
applicant is not a United States citizen, the application shall 
also include the applicant’s country of citizenship and the 
applicant’s alien registration or I-94 number. 
(3) If the firearm is a handgun, and commencing January 1, 
2014, any firearm, the firearm’s make, model, caliber, barrel 
length, handgun type, country of origin, and serial number, 
provided, however, that if the firearm is not a handgun and 
does not have a serial number, identification number, or 
identification mark assigned to it, there shall be a place on 
the application to note that fact. 
(4) For residents of California, the applicant’s valid 
California driver’s license number or valid California 
identification card number issued by the Department of 
Motor Vehicles. For nonresidents of California, a copy of the 
applicant’s military identification with orders indicating that 
the individual is stationed in California, or a copy of the 
applicant’s valid driver’s license from the applicant’s state of 
residence, or a copy of the applicant’s state identification 
card from the applicant’s state of residence. Copies of the 
documents provided by non-California residents shall be 
notarized. 
(5) The name of the court or law enforcement agency 
holding the firearm. 
(6) The signature of the applicant and the date of signature. 
(7) Any person furnishing a fictitious name or address or 
knowingly furnishing any incorrect information or 
knowingly omitting any information required to be provided 
for the application, including any notarized information 
pursuant to paragraph (4), shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 
(b) A person who owns a firearm that is in the custody of a 
court or law enforcement agency and who does not wish to 
obtain possession of the firearm, and the firearm is an 
otherwise legal firearm, and the person otherwise has right to 
title of the firearm, shall be entitled to sell or transfer title of 
the firearm to a licensed dealer. 
(c) Any person furnishing a fictitious name or address, or 
knowingly furnishing any incorrect information or 
knowingly omitting any information required to be provided 
for the application, including any notarized information 
pursuant to paragraph (4) of subdivision (a), is punishable as 
a misdemeanor.” 

“Give the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, 
Firearms and Explosives a confirmed 
director.” 

Not applicable.  (According to the New York Times, since 
2006, when federal law was changed to require the director 
of the Bureau to be subject to Senate confirmation, “the 
Senate has failed to confirm any nominee by either President 
George W. Bush or President Obama . . . Mr. [Todd] Jones 
[President Obama’s nominee] is the bureau’s fifth acting 
director since 2006.” ) 
http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/17/us/politics/obama-
presses-senate-to-confirm-atf-director.html?_r=0 



“Eliminate restrictions that force the ATF 
to authorize importation of dangerous 
weapons simply because of their age.” 

Not applicable because California does not regulate 
importation of firearms.  However, curio and relic firearms 
are exempt from a number of California restrictions (e.g., 10-
day waiting period, the requirement that a person be a 
licensed firearms dealer prior to selling, leasing or 
transferring firearms, etc.). 

“Maximize enforcement efforts to prevent 
gun violence and prosecute gun crime.” 

Not applicable.  The President’s proposal refers to the work 
of the U.S. Attorneys.  California could, for example, 
upgrade the California Department of Justice’s Armed 
Prohibited Persons Program. 

“Analyze information on lost and stolen 
guns and make it widely available to law 
enforcement.” 

No state law requires this.  According to a department 
representative, the Department of Justice does so by practice.  
Local law enforcement practices on this are unknown. 

Appropriate $14 million to help train 
14,000 law enforcement officers, first 
responders, and school officials on 
effective training for active shooter 
situations. 

Not applicable. 

“End the freeze on gun violence 
research.”  Centers for Disease Control 
(CDC) and other scientific agencies have 
been barred by Congress from using funds 
to “advocate or promote gun control,” and 
some members of Congress have claimed 
this prohibition also bans the CDC from 
conducting any research on the causes of 
gun violence.   
 

• Conduct research on the causes 
and prevention of gun violence, 
including links between video 
games, media images, and 
violence. 

• Better understand how and when 
firearms are used in violent 
death.” 

Not applicable.  There are no known California laws 
restricting this type of research in California.  UC Davis has 
conducted these types of studies for years.  
http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/vprp/aboutus/wintemute.html 
 

“Preserve the rights of health care 
providers to protect their patients and 
communities from gun violence.”  This 
relates to interpretations of HIPAA and 
the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare). 

Not applicable. 

“Encourage gun owners to live up to their 
responsibility to store guns safely.” 
 

• Launch a national responsible gun 
ownership campaign. 

• Review and enhance as warranted 
safety standards for gun locks and 
gun safes 

• Encourage the development of 

Not applicable.  Responsible gun ownership is most certainly 
not the cause of gun violence in California, nor across the 
nation. 



innovative gun safety technology. 
“Take executive action to provide 
incentives for schools to hire school 
resource officers.” 

Not applicable. 

“Put up to 1,000 new school resource 
officers and school counselors on the 
job.”  
 
“The program will give $150 million to 
school districts and law enforcement 
agencies to hire school resource 
officers, school psychologists, social 
workers, and counselors.” 

Not applicable.  Note that California has nearly 10,000 
schools, so if California received 12% of these officers, it 
would be only 120 school resource officers or counselors to 
be distributed amongst nearly 10,000 schools. 
 
Many California school districts have police / security 
departments: 
 

• Apple Valley Unified School District Police 
Department 

• Baldwin Park Unified School District Police 
Department 

• Compton Unified School District Police Department 
• Elk Grove School District Police Department 
• Fontana School District Police Department 
• Glendale College District Police Department 
• Hesperia School District Police Department 
• Huntington Beach Union High School District 

Police Department 
• Inglewood Unified School District Police 

Department 
• Kern High School District Police Department 
• Los Angeles School Police Department 
• Montebello Unified School District Police 

Department 
• Norwalk-La Mirada Unified School District School 

Safety Department 
• Oakland Unified School District Police Department 
• San Bernardino City Unified School District Police 

Department 
• San Diego City Schools Police Department 
• Santa Ana Unified School District Police 

Department 
• Stockton Unified School District Police Department 
• Twin Rivers Police Department 
• Victor Valley Union High School District Police 

Department 
• West Contra Costa Unified School District Police 

Department 
 
Hundreds of other districts employ the services of school 
resource officers, though the exact number is elusive because 
it is accomplished through local agreements and statewide 
data is not collected. 
 



If  all 1,000 resource officers in the President’s plan were 
placed in the Golden State, it would only reach 10% of the 
schools, and that assumes that all 1,000 would be resource 
officers.  Even that might not be the case because the 
President’s proposal authorizes 1,000 resource officers and 
counselors, social workers, and school psychologists.  The 
impact in California would probably be fairly minimal. 

“Invest in other strategies to make our 
schools safe.  School districts could also 
use these Comprehensive School Safety 
Grants to purchase school safety 
equipment; develop and update school 
safety plans; conduct threat assessments; 
and train ‘crisis intervention teams’ of law 
enforcement officers to work with the 
mental health community to respond to 
and assist student in crisis.  And the 
General Services Administration will use 
its purchasing power to help schools buy 
safety equipment affordably. 

Since 1997, California requires each public school to adopt a 
Comprehensive School Safety Plan.  (Education Code §§ 
32280-32289).  California also provides a School Safety 
Consolidated Competitive Grant for violence prevention and 
a School Safety Block Grant for violence prevention in 
grades 8-12.  Both programs are frozen at 2008-09 funding 
levels and “flexed” so local school districts may use those 
funds for any purpose. 

“Give schools and other institutions a 
model for how to develop and implement 
reliable [Comprehensive Emergency 
Management] plans.” 

Since 1997, California requires each public school to adopt a 
Comprehensive School Safety Plan.  (Education Code §§ 
32280-32289).  The California Department of Education 
(CDE) provides technical assistance and training in the 
development of those plans, which include responses to 
natural disasters and to threats of violence.  In addition, the 
CDE is required to electronically distribute disaster 
preparedness educational materials and lesson plans that are 
currently available to local school districts and county 
offices of education.  (Education Code § 32282.5.) 

“Help schools develop and implement 
emergency plans.” 

Since 1997, California requires each public school to adopt a 
Comprehensive School Safety Plan.  (Education Code §§ 
32280-32289.)  The Department of Education provides 
technical assistance and training in the development of those 
plans, which include responses to natural disasters and to 
threats of violence.  A schedule of training is available at: 
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/ss/vp/scvptraining.asp 

“Help 8,000 schools create safer and more 
nurturing school climates.” 

In October 2010, California became one of 11 states selected 
to receive a Safe and Supportive Schools (S3) grant from the 
U.S. Department of Education, Office of Safe and Drug-Free 
Schools.  This four-year grant is intended to support 
statewide measurement of conditions for learning (known 
also as school climate), as well as targeted programmatic 
interventions to improve those conditions.  The S3 grant 
addresses issues of school safety and bullying, substance 
abuse, positive relationships, other learning support, and 
student engagement.  The grant targets California's 
comprehensive high schools (grades 9-12) with the greatest 
needs in multiple areas of school climate.  The four-year 
grant period runs from October 2010 through September 



2014. 
“Share best practices on school 
discipline.” 

The proposal is to have the federal government disseminate 
“best practices.”  Schools might benefit from such a 
proposal. 
 
In California, the CDE provides extensive assistance in 
developing safe school environments; specifically it offers 
the following training: 
 
Bullying Prevention and Intervention:  Training sessions 
assist teachers, administrators, parents, students, certificated 
staff, risk management, and community members to increase 
their knowledge of the dynamics of bullying, have a greater 
understanding of a systematic approach to bullying, and 
increase their skills in identifying and implementing 
strategies to address bullying. 
 
Crisis Response:  Training sessions increase participants' 
knowledge of the National Incident Management System 
(NIMS), the State Emergency Management System (SEMS), 
and the Incident Command System (ICS) procedures that are 
required courses of action to follow when an event or crisis 
occurs. The training also leads participants through the 
process of creating Crisis Response Plans, which are 
components of a school site's comprehensive School Safety 
Plan. 
 
Safe School Planning:  Training sessions provide teachers, 
administrators, parents, students, certificated staff, risk 
management, and community members with an in-depth 
review of an effective safe school planning process, and 
guides participants to creating comprehensive, compliant 
School Safety Plans. 

“Reach 750,000 young people through 
programs to identify mental illness early 
and refer them to treatment.” 

California law already establishes prevention and early 
intervention programs as a component of Proposition 63, the 
Mental Health Services Act (MHSA), approved by voters on 
November 2, 2004.  Proposition 63 imposes a 1 percent 
income tax on personal income in excess of $1 million to 
expand mental health services to individuals with severe 
mental illness or mental health disorders.  Under the MHSA, 
the State Department of Health Care Services, in 
coordination with counties, is required to establish a 
prevention and early intervention program to prevent mental 
illnesses from becoming severe and disabling.  (Welfare and 
Institutions Code § 5840-5840.2).   Prevention and early 
intervention funds may be used to broaden the provision of 
community-based mental health services by adding 
prevention and early intervention services or activities to 
these services. 

“Provide ‘Mental Health First Aid’ 
training for teachers.” 

There is no requirement to be trained or specific program to 
provide training to teachers in California in mental health 



first aid.  Programs are available in many locations, and 
school districts may use professional development funds or 
other unrestricted funds to pay for such training. 

“Make sure students with signs of mental 
illness get referred to treatment.” 

Services for mental health are not necessarily provided by 
schools.  The children’s system of care is funded by the state 
through the Department of Mental Health and administered 
by county departments of health.  Services provided include:  
delivery of integrated human services to children with 
serious emotional disturbances who are at risk of out-of-
home placement with the goal to keep these children safe, in 
home, in school, and out of the juvenile justice system. 
 
Local education agencies do participate in the Early Mental 
Health Initiative funded through the State Department of 
Health.  The target population of EMHI funded programs is 
students in kindergarten through third grades who have been 
identified as experiencing mild to moderate school 
adjustment difficulties.  
 
The CDE also has a school-linked service program called 
Healthy Start.  It represents an opportunity for K-12 schools 
to involve themselves in a comprehensive partnership to 
reform the current delivery of support services to students 
and their families. This is achieved by the formation of new 
partnerships between schools and health and human services 
agencies. 

“Support individuals ages 16 to 25 at high 
risk for mental illness.” 

California law already establishes the infrastructure for 
supporting both children and young adults at high risk for 
mental illness.   
 
For individuals under the age of 18, the Children’s Mental 
Health Services Act (Welfare and Institutions Code §§ 5850-
5883) establishes a comprehensive county interagency 
system for the delivery of mental health services to 
emotionally and behaviorally disturbed children and their 
families.  The Act addresses the needs of children meeting 
high-risk criteria, including impairment in self-care, school 
functioning, family relationships, or ability to function in the 
community.   Funding for these programs is provided under 
Proposition 63, the Mental Health Services Act when 
services under any other public or private insurance or other 
mental health or entitlement program is inadequate or 
unavailable. 
 
For individuals over the age of 18, the Adult and Older Adult 
Mental Health System of Care Act (Welfare and Institutions 
Code §§ 5800-5815) funds and guides counties in 
establishing  comprehensive and coordinated systems of 
care, including community-based treatment, outreach 
services and other early intervention strategies, case 
management, and interagency system components required 



by adults and older adults with severe and persistent mental 
illness.  The Act addresses the needs of adults meeting high-
risk criteria, including behaviors that interfere substantially 
with the primary activities of daily living, and which may 
result in an inability to maintain stable adjustment and 
independent functioning without treatment, support, and 
rehabilitation.  The Department of Health Care Services is 
required to establish service standards that ensure that 
members of the target population are identified, and services 
provided to assist them to live independently, work, and 
reach their potential as productive citizens.  Funding for 
these programs is provided under Proposition 63, the Mental 
Health Services Act. 

“Help schools address pervasive 
violence.” 

California has extensive training to prevent and address 
violence in schools.  Since 1997 California requires each 
public school to adopt a Comprehensive School Safety Plans 
(Education Code §§ 32280-32289); those plans must address 
a myriad of issues including: 
(1) An assessment of the current status of school or school-
related crime for each site; 
(2) Identification of appropriate strategies and programs 
designed to maintain a high level of school safety and 
development of the following procedures for compliance 
with existing laws related to school safety: 
 

• Child abuse reporting procedures. 
• Disaster procedures, routine and emergency with 

provisions for pupil with disabilities. 
• Policies related to suspension, expulsion or 

mandatory expulsion and other school-designated 
serious acts which would lead to suspension or 
expulsion. 

• Procedures regarding teacher notification of 
dangerous students pursuant to Education Code § 
49079. 

• Sexual harassment policy pursuant to Education 
Code, § 212.6 (b). 

• Provisions of any school-wide dress code, 
established pursuant to Education Code § 35183, 
that prohibits pupils from wearing “gang related 
apparel,” if the school has adopted such a dress 
code.   Note: “Gang related apparel” must be defined 
and is not be considered a protected form of speech. 

• Procedures for safe ingress and egress to and from 
school. Applies to pupils, parents, and school 
employees. 

• A safe and orderly environment conducive to 
learning. 

• Rules and procedures on school discipline adopted 
pursuant to Education Code § 35291 and § 35291.5. 



• Procedures for reporting hate crimes. 
“Train more than 5,000 additional mental 
health professionals to serve students and 
young adults.” 
 

Existing law already creates programs and incentives for 
training additional mental health professionals.  Proposition 
63, the Mental Health Services Act (MHSA), requires the 
Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development, in 
coordination with the California Mental Health Planning 
Council, to develop a five-year education and training 
development plan to remedy shortages of qualified mental 
health professionals [Welfare and Institutions Code Sec. 
5820-5822].  This plan includes expansion of educational 
capacity in needed fields, scholarship and loan forgiveness 
programs for individuals committed to serving in 
California’s public mental health system, and career 
development programs for mental health occupations. 

“Launch a national conversation to 
increase understanding about mental 
health.” 

California voters already launched a statewide conversation 
about mental illness through passage of Proposition 63, the 
Mental Health Services Act.  The stated purpose of the Act is 
“to define serious mental illness among children, adults and 
seniors as a condition deserving priority attention, including 
prevention and early intervention services and medical and 
supportive care.”  Prevention and early intervention 
programs created under Proposition 63 are designed to 
facilitate this dialog through their stated objectives requiring 
“outreach to families, employers, primary care health care 
providers, and others,” “reduction in stigma associated with 
either being diagnosed with a mental illness or seeking 
mental health services,” and “reduction in discrimination 
against people with mental illness.”  The Legislature further 
promoted this conversation through passage of ACR 110 
(Fletcher) (Resolution Chapter 110, Statutes of 2012), which 
recognized the week of May 20, 2012, through May 26, 
2012, as California Mental Health No Stigma Week. 

“Finalize requirements for private health 
insurance plans to cover mental health.” 

AB 154 (Beall) (Chapter , Statutes of 2012) requires health 
plans and health insurers that provide hospital, medical, or 
surgical coverage to provide coverage for the diagnosis and 
medically necessary treatment of a mental illness of a person 
of any age, including a child, under the same terms and 
conditions applied to other medical conditions.  
Consequently, California already meets the requirements of 
the Affordable Care Act (Pub.L. 111-148) (Obamacare). 

“Make sure millions of Americans 
covered by Medicaid get quality mental 
health.” 

All Medicaid and Medicaid Alternative Benefit plans 
(including benchmark equivalent and Secretary-approved 
benchmark plans), Medi-Cal in California, are required to 
meet the provisions within the Mental Health Parity Act of 
1996 (MHPA, Pub.L. 104-204), as updated by the Paul 
Wellstone and Pete Domenici Mental Health Parity and 
Addiction Equity Act of 2008 (MHPAEA, Pub.L. 110-343) 
regardless of whether services are delivered in managed care 
or non-managed care arrangements.  The application of 
MHPAEA to Medicaid non-managed care Alternative 



Benefit plan benefits was effective on March 23, 2010, 
pursuant to the Affordable Care Act (Pub.L. 111-148). 

 

                                                           
1
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January 16, 2012, available at:  http://www.whitehouse.gov/sites/default/files/docs/wh_now_is_the_time_full.pdf 


